Manufacturers all do things differently with different ingredients. Learning to read labels is essential.

Barley may appear as

  1. Barley
  2. Malt
  3. Malt extract
  4. Malt flavouring
  5. Malt syrup
  6. Barley malt flavouring
  7. Barley malt syrup

Hydrolysed vegetable protein (HVP) is made from different ingredients and is never listed

  1. Hydrolysed wheat protein (not gluten-free)
  2. Hydrolysed soy protein (gluten-free)

Maltodextrin can be made from

  1. Wheat
  2. Corn
  3. Potato
  4. Rice

Caramel colour is usually made from corn and should be gluten-free, however you must check the label.

Wheat starch is common in gravy, sauces, and seasonings as a thickener.